Dev Tip: Persistency in User Roles

In traditional web applications, when using external identity providers, by default, user roles persist in the OutSystems environment. This means in the event that roles are changed on the external provider’s side, these changes may not be reflected in the OutSystems user’s roles.

To prevent this, we can set the specific role to not persist in the advanced properties of the role. With this option enabled, a role is only issued to a user for that session and will be removed when the session is ended. This change will ensure consistency across the external provider’s user roles and the user’s roles in the OutSystems applications during sessions.

Bhavya Shah, Senior Software Developer, shows you how to do this in this 1-minute video.

Sign up for our newsletter and stay tuned for more Dev Tips.

Team PhoenixDX